EXMORTUS - The Sound of Steel CD

Available now!
  • Shipping time: 4 - 5 business days
  • Item no.: N-20949
  • Item weight: 0,10 kg
  • EAN: 0656191033916
  • 8,99 €
  • including 19% VAT., plus shipping
Loading ...


Prothetic, EXMORTUS deliver a visceral call to arms in a maelstrom of thrashing, neo-classical, blackened death as they tear fresh wounds into their ever-pioneering discography; soaring to unprecedented heights as they mix sonic precision with raw, bloody savagery. Straight off the back of a Spring European tour with Florida death metal legends, Obituary, "The Sound Of Steel" is the 5th studio album from these Los Angeles based neo-classical shredders. Exmortus once again revisited the team that made previous albums 'Slave To The Sword' and 'Ride Forth' such successes, working with producer Zack Ohren (Machine Head, Fallujah, Suffocation) at Sharkbite Studio to sonically capture the tracks while artist, Philip Lawvere (Kreator, Celtic Frost, Helloween), created the cover art. A Los Angeles fixture for well over a decade now, they released their first LP, 2008?s In Hatred?s Flame, when vocalist / guitarist Conan was just 18 years old, but had already paid their dues through their shows and buzzed about demos. The mixture of thrash, death, black and especially neo-classical that made them stand out from the LA thrash revival in the '00s. 2014?s Slave to the Sword was the album that took all their influences and forged them together the strongest. Touring nonstop in support of that LP with the likes of Dark Tranquillity, Krisiun, Destruction, Arsis and many others prepped them for a more mature sound on 2016?s Ride Forth. Constant touring with Amon Amarth, Children of Bodom, Abbath and this year?s run with Kreator and Sabaton proved too much for some of the members, as founding member and drummer, Mario Mortus as well as long-time guitarist, David Rivera, stepped down to pursue other interests. Leading into the new album, they enlisted Chase Becker (guitar) and Carlos Cruz (drums) of Warbringer to help record the tracks. That line-up did a run with Darkest Hour and Warbringer prior to recording The Sound of Steel and the new quartet was immediately on fire. The result is ?The Sound Of Steel?!

Other customers have also bought the following items